Where the crawdads sing

ISBN:9781472154668

Stock Availability:

Format:  Paperback

How long can you protect your heart? For years, rumours of the 'Marsh Girl' have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life - until the unthinkable happens.

Format
Paperback
Categories
January Book NewsFiction
Published
12/12/2019
ISBN
9781472154668
Publisher
CORSAIR
Weight
300kg

Deliveries

Order before 10.30am for next day delivery.

Returns

Before books can be returned, they must be authorised by the Company. The invoice number relating to the original charging of the goods must be quoted. (Returnable books become firm sale 12 months after purchase). All Stationery and associated products are sold firm sale. N.B. Books with a status flag of “F/S” are sold Firm Sale.



Reviews

Have you read this book?  Write your own review

What the critics say

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world New York Times Book Review Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that's as engrossing as it is moving Daily Mail For a debut the prose is impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens's exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievement The Times Kya is a compelling character, Owen's descriptive prose is lushly impressive, and the twist in the narrative's tail is neat Sunday Times Culture Owens combines high tension with precise detail about how people dress, sound, live and eat - the case studies in her book are both human and natural . . . Surprise bestsellers are often works that chime with the times. Though set in the 1950s and 60s, Where the Crawdads Sing is, in its treatment of racial and social division and the fragile complexities of nature, obviously relevant to contemporary politics and ecology. But these themes will reach a huge audience though the writer's old-fashioned talents for compelling character, plotting and landscape description the Guardian For sheer escapism pick up Where The Crawdads Sing . . . there is writing that takes your breath away The Times (separate review) An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader. Chris Schluep, Amazon Book Review Unsettling and tinged with sadness, yet astonishingly fresh, powerful and mesmerising - with a surprising ending that will haunt you. I couldn't put it down The Lady The strength of the story comes from the sympathetic portrait of its heroine who cannot fail to captivate, right up until the surprising end UK Press Association and Independent I Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. People Unsettling and tinged with sadness, yet astonishingly fresh, powerful and mesmerising - with a surprising ending that will haunt you. I couldn't put it down The Lady This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver Bustle A nature-infused romance with a killer twist Refinery29 Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya's story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives Vanity Fair Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. Entertainment Weekly A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It's clear she's from this place-the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain-you can feel it in the pages. A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight

>